What Gets Left Behind, a chapbook by Mark West

In 1981, Gaffney was terrorised by the Rainy Day Abductor.

Local girls went missing.

And two boys made a terrifying discovery.

Now one of them has come home, to try and lay the past to rest.

"Very strong writing and with a nice evocation of time and place.  West conjures the sense of a particular era with skill and the horrors he finds there are universal."
- Gary McMahon, author of "The Concrete Grove" trilogy

“Where this story excels is Mark’s amazing talent at intertwining the stories narrative with an emotional depth and detail, that will stir the emotions of the reader.  Mark West’s writing has a heart and soul that many writers would kill for.”
- Jim McLeod, at Ginger Nuts Of Horror

"Mark West has a knack for making the bonds that bind friends and family tangible and very
real. In What Gets Left Behind those bonds reach forward from the past to ensnare Mike and
draw him back to a place he never wanted to visit again...”
- Ian Whates, author of “City Of Dreams & Nightmare” and “The Noise Within”

“[A story] about loss and regret, as well as unsettled ghosts.  If you love the terror of good horror then there’s plenty for you in this slow-burner. And if, like me, you enjoy Mark West’s writing, there’s even more.”
- Sue Moorcroft, author of “All That Mullarkey” and “The Wedding Proposal” 

cover designed and produced by Neil Williams

“What Gets Left Behind” was Spectral Press chapbook 7, launched at FantasyCon, September 2012 and sold out four months prior to publication.

Published in a limited edition of 100 copies, it was never released as an ebook and is currently out-of-print.

Since the original run was limited, I thought it might be a good idea to publish the story in a digital edition and - having spoken with Simon Marshall-Jones at Spectral - that's precisely what I did in April 2015.  At the present time, there are no definite plans in place for any further print editions of this story.

The ebook version of "What Gets Left Behind" is essentially the same as the print one (with just a few minor tweaks) but includes an exclusive afterword where I spend 1,500 words talking about how the story came together.  The digital edition was built by Tim C. Taylor of Greyhart Press and I designed the new cover.

The ebook is available on Kindle now for £1.31 / $1.99

Universal Amazon link - mybook.to/WhatGetsLeftBehind

promo art by Mark West (c) Rude Dude Films 2012

promo art by Mark West (c) Rude Dude Films 2012
promo art by Mark West (c) Rude Dude Films 2012
promo art by Mark West (c) Rude Dude Films 2012
promo art by Mark West (c) Rude Dude Films 2012
original music for the trailer composed and performed by Gary Cole-Wilkin
trailer designed and produced by Rude Dude Films

Pick up the ebook...

No comments:

Post a Comment